maybecoding

Exploring Beijing (with photos)

One afternoon last week I decided to visit Lugouqiao, aka Marco Polo Bridge. You can read about the bridge and its significance here:

The subway has expanded in recent years, making the bridge quite easy to reach. It's located at the end of Line 16 (Wanpingcheng), which I picked up at Fengtai railway station.

The bridge:

maybecoding

And its surroundings:

maybecoding

maybecoding

After spending some time at the bridge, I decided that I'd cycle to Line 14 for the return leg.

The final station of Line 14 (Zhangguozhuang):

maybecoding

I spotted a hill just beyond the station and wondered whether it would provide an impressive view of the city. Well… it turns out the hill isn't very high, despite what my legs experienced… but the view of the station was interesting:

maybecoding

And if you look closely, you can see the TV Tower in the far distance!