maybecoding

The task management features that bring me joy while using Frogtab

With Frogtab, I'm trying to build a task manager where each feature makes a clear and meaningful contribution to the goal of keeping me focused on today's priorities. It's also important to me that the system is joyful to use.

In this post I'll summarize the Frogtab features that bring me joy. I'm not fully confident that I've achieved what I'm shooting for yet, but the journey itself is fun!

  1. Frogtab has two text boxes β€” There's something particularly appealing to me about maintaining my todo list as a plain text file. The minimalism is refreshing and the lack of functionality reduces my ability to constantly fiddle with formatting etc. But when I'm focused on the day's tasks, that's all I want to see. So Frogtab has two text boxes: one dedicated to today, and another for capturing everything else.

  2. It's in my browser β€” I spend a sizable chunk of my day in my browser where my tabs are usually organized quite well. Frogtab is pinned there, always close at hand.

  3. It nudges me toward good habits β€” I'm eager to avoid an ever-expanding list of low value tasks that I'll never do. Using Frogtab makes this outcome less likely:

    • At the end of the day, anything left in my Today box is moved to my inbox. This nudges me to decide whether my unfinished tasks are truly important.

    • Whenever there's anything in my inbox, Frogtab displays a notification badge. This gives me a strong incentive to obliterate things from my inbox!

    • However, I'm only human… I don't always have the time/energy to do or triage a task. Or maybe I've decided that I'll do the task tomorrow and just want to "snooze" the task. Writing # in front of the task tells Frogtab to ignore the task when deciding whether to display a notification badge. Then, at the end of the day, Frogtab removes the # again.

  4. I can capture tasks privately β€” My work involves a lot of discussions with other people, and it's common for tasks to pop up during a discussion. Frogtab enables me to add tasks to my inbox while keeping the rest of my inbox private. All I need to do is visit frogtab.com/send in a new tab.

Here's a demo of how #4 works:

And finally, a sneak peek at feature #5 β€” I'm working on a way to send tasks to my inbox from any device. It's still experimental right now, so look out for a future update!


I'm primarily building Frogtab for myself. But if you've experimented with Frogtab, I'd love to hear your experience! You can send me a message here. I really appreciate the kind feedback I've received so far πŸ™Œ